Don’t Be Afraid of Technology, Embrace It!

I felt a real strong connection to this video, not because I am an athlete or like pain, but because as a mother of three constant shadows that follow my every move. I am no different than many of the “Teen Mom’s” out there, sure I was a little older but I still was shocked when I found out at age 20 I was going to be another statistic of unplanned pregnancies to unwed mothers. I knew from the moment I decided I was going to be a MOM that I was not going to follow the stereotype and join the welfare retirement plan. I was going to beat the odds….
Now to the point of my story… My second child was born via emergency C-section almost 3 months early (29.2 weeks) not by choice, but because my body wasn’t doing what it was supposed to. I was scared, vulnerable, and at the mercy of the doctors and nurses guidance; I did everything they told me to because they knew best… or so I thought. Fast forward again to my last pregnancy, the thought of heading into labor again was treacherous not knowing how it would go. Would I be able to deliver? Would I have to have a C-section again or worse push for over 2 hours like my first child? And then it hit me, I will do what I choose because I am in CONTROL of my body and I am the one who knows what is BEST for MY BODY. I finally stopped listening to everyone else and looked to myself for the answers. Researching and learning became my only outlet to the outside world during my third round of bedrest; I realized the fear was my own response to the unknown which meant the outcome would be at the mercy again of those around me. F*** that, I am in control, I know what is best and I know what my body is doing better than anyone and that when I took charge.
I told the nurses and doctors how this was going to go. 

I CHOSE to embrace the pain, because I knew the pain was only a response to the baby preparing for birth. The more pain I would feel only meant the more progress my body was making towards the end goal, delivering my baby. I also decided the more time I spent standing or walking meant the more work gravity would do for me. So when I finally arrived at the hospital noticeably in labor, the reception desk asked right away if I wanted a wheelchair to help with my mobility, I reminded myself the more pain meant more progress and I was not going to make the labor process last any longer than it had to; so my response was “No way, wheelchairs are for quitters!” 
When I was just about fully dilated and the doctors had given me an epidural, I knew she was ready to come but my body said not quite yet. I wanted to let gravity help so when the doctors told me I couldn’t stand or even sit up because of the medicine, I said “Watch me” and got up on my knees on the hospital bed and let gravity do its work… They told me it was time to push and I said I tell you when it’s time… waited for my body to relay the progress to my brain and when I could feel her at the base of my hips I said, “Ok, I’m ready”…. 8 minutes and 3 pushes later, there SHE was, perfect as can be and I was on cloud 9. I was up and walking in a few hours and out of the hospital headed home just 26 hours after birth, NOTHING like my previous experiences. I felt like superwoman and remember asking myself how did you do that…. Because I CHOSE to was the obvious answer. 
It’s only now, 22 months later, that I realize what I really can apply what I learned from out of that experience. I can do anything I want, within reason and logic, there is always a way to get there it’s on YOU though, to find the path that leads there. My future is not a statistic, or some previously created destiny, my future is what I make of it. I CHOSE to defy the odds, and followed my dream because I stopped listening to everyone else or caring what they thought of me and started listening to my inner voice. 

I CAN DO ANYTHING with determination, will, and perseverance; those were the values I have always carried I just never applied those values to my decision making process. I have that mindset of embrace the pain, (bring it on) because success is on the other side of that pain. I found potential I never realized I had, I am embracing my talents and my true self with disregard to surrounding influences and you know what? It’s working… I still haven’t landed the dream job yet or become a recognized success but I AM making progress! 

I am learning more about myself than ever before and CHOOSING what to do with the new information I learn from my peers and mentors instead of just doing what they said. I feel stronger than ever and ready to face any challenges that come my way, because I KNOW this struggle and the pain of the unknown is only temporary and my success is right on the other side…
Find what drives you to be successful and embrace it!! The roadblocks and challenges you’ll face along the way are the growing pains to be successful, don’t try to avoid them or go around them. Face them head on and come out successful on the other side; the struggle is real and will never fade. CHOOSE to remember that the pain is only temporary, but the success is permanent

